Lessons Learned Through A Whisper

“Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave. Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here Elijah?”

1 Kings 19:11-1

Once a year I typically lose my voice for a period of a day or two. This year Sunday February 15th was the day. Although it had started earlier, it was gone…completely gone for the whole day.  No matter how much effort I put forth I could not muster more than a quiet whisper. In the everlasting chaos that is my life not being able to communicate with any sort of volume or expression proved difficult. Although I would stand and call people by name over and over in the midst of the activity of life they simply couldn’t hear me.There was a reasonable amount of finger snapping and foot stomping to get my everyone’s attention. We had Paul’s family over for lunch and as I tried to participate and offer comments and be heard I had no success.  It was in those moments I could hear God’s own whisper saying to me “You have done the same to me when I was calling you.”

It all got me to thinking. This is what I took home from my experience and I thought I would share it with you…

1. God is talking to you…listen for Him.

If you are not hearing God calling for you, speaking into your life, does mean He is not speaking to you. It is possible He is standing right in your midst calling you by name, over and over and the noise of your world is distracting you from hearing. Be ever aware and seeking with your ears the whisper of God. I found in my experience it was only those who looked for me to be saying something that really noticed I was trying.

2. God is trying to get your attention…when He does, give it to Him.

He may not be stomping His foot, or snapping His fingers, but when God wants you to be attentive to Him, He will let you know.  When He seeks your attention, pausing for a moment and simply acknowledging the attempt is not being attentive to Him.  When He is trying to get your attention He is asking you to give your undivided self to Him. I was made to wonder whether those busy hectic days and weeks that all of a sudden clear up and become open and relaxed are God asking me to give my attention to Him. I am saddened by how often I will thank Him for the time, acknowledge that the slowed pace is a gift from Him, and yet not commit that free time to being attentive to His word. Rather I fill it with the busy activities of daily life.

3. God’s is drawing you near…to really listen to a whisper you need to get close to Him.

I was trying to explain something to one of my girls and I must have said it 5 times without them really catching and getting every word. Finally, I called her over, scooped her up and sat her on my lap, and I whispered in her ear what I was wanting for her to do.  We chatted and hugged and off she went on her way. It made me think that perhaps God is speaking to us in a still small whisper so we will sit up on His lap and quietly listen and have a moment of intimate affection in His presence.

images (1)Power and authoritative speaking is an easy way to get action and response, but I learned that when a communicator speaks in a whisper, the responsibility is on the listener to be engaged and active in the response. The listener must be alert and watching for communication, and then stop to be attentive to what is being said, and for best understanding they will have to draw themselves in close away from all other distraction to really listen.

I wonder what it would do for our faith, and our hearts if we listened for God in this way.

Today I am grateful God used my circumstance to inspire this consideration..be blessed ladies and this week I encourage you to listen for the whisper of God in your lives.

Leave a Reply

